Skip to main content.
February 22nd, 2011

Tired of ads? Then register an account or login

Ben, Konrad to represent SA in 2011

Ben Gale will represent South Africa at the annual World Amateur Go Championships in Shimane, Japan at the end of May, while Konrad Scheffler will represent South Africa later in the year at the Korean Prime Minister’s Cup. The selection of Ben and Konrad were based on the credit point allocations at the end of 2010. We wish them both the best of luck!

Posted by Steve as News, SAGA, Tournaments at 1:59 PM, No Comments »

February 14th, 2011

John Leuner wins 2011 SA Open

The 2011 South African Open Go Tournament was held in Dobsonville, Soweto, on 12 and 13 February 2011. The field included 28 players from 2 dan to 25 kyu. The winner of the SA Open trophy and the African Player’s Trophy was John Leuner, who won all six of his games. The winners of the Veteran’s and Youth trophies will be announced shortly.

Congratulations to the following players, who were promoted:
Zaine Deane 9k -> 8k
Sello Leopeng 10k -> 9k
Solomon Mosepedi 20k -> 19k
Musa Khumalo 22k -> 20k
Mandilakhe Gogotshe 22k -> 21k
Phakamile Mkhwanazi 22k -> 21k

The following players were demoted:
Sipho Mampe 1d -> 1k
David Richfield 3k -> 4k

Special thanks to David Richfield, André Connell, Sipho Mampe, Ricky Pilane and Sello Leopeng for their help in making the tournament a success.

Full details can be found at

Posted by adavies as Rank Changes, Tournaments at 1:38 PM, No Comments »

February 12th, 2011

Changes to the SAGoClubs wiki

In order to combat increasingly violent waves of vandalism and spam, I have been forced to disable anonymous editing on the wiki, and also to restrict account creation by the public on the wiki. If you want an account in order to make edits on the wiki, please email a username and password (you can change it once your account is created) to Steve Kroon at .

Posted by Steve as Announcements at 4:40 PM, No Comments »