Skip to main content.
February 17th, 2013

Tired of ads? Then register an account or login

North vs. South Friendship Match 2013

February 17th 2013 is the date for the North vs. South game. Players from the greater Joburg area will play a single match against players from the greater Cape Town area.

Time limits: 45+25/10
Handicap: standard handicap

Update: Congrats to North, who won 5-3

Ben Gale (4d) vs Andrew Davies (3d); Ben won 1h
Harvey Zhang (4d) vs Sam Scott (3d); Harvey won 1h
John Leuner (2d) vs Chris Welsh (1d); John won 1h
Dave Gale (3k) vs Francois van Niekerk (4k); Francois won 1h
Andre Connell (2d) vs Paul (4k); Andre won 5h
David Richardson (4k) vs Stephen Martindale (9k); Stephen won 5h
Margot Smythe (14k) vs Max Rabkin (11k); Max won 3h
Nevar Angelo (15k) vs Rory Shea (13k); Nevar won 2h

Posted by Chris Welsh as Cape Town, Joburg, Tournaments at 1:25 PM, 1 Comment »

February 13th, 2013

SAGA: Notice of 2013 AGM and call for Council nominations

The Annual General Meeting of the SAGA will be held on Saturday 13th April 2013 during the lunch break of the SAGA second quarter internet tournament in the South African Room on KGS. This means that the meeting will start at 14h00, unless there are second-round games still in progress, in which case the meeting will begin when those games have been concluded. The preliminary agenda will be as follows:

  1. Considering the 2012 minutes for acceptance.
  2. Receipt and consideration of the President’s report for 2012/2013
  3. Adoption of the Revised Financial Statements for 2008 (see note below)
  4. Adoption of the Financial Statements for 2009
  5. Adoption of the Financial Statements for 2010
  6. Adoption of the Financial Statements for 2011 (note that this was updated since the original call: the version linked here was loaded 17 Feb 2013)
  7. Adoption of the Financial Statements for 2012
  8. Receipt and consideration of the Treasurer’s report for 2011 (covering 2009-2011)
  9. Receipt and consideration of the Treasurer’s report for 2012 (note: original link provided was to the 2011 report)
  10. Election of new council members for 2013/2014 (see below)
  11. Matters arising

This post also serves as a call for nominations for the SAGA council for 2013/2014. John Leuner and David Richfield’s terms of office expire in April. Nominations must reach the secretary ( by 1 March 2013: nominations require a proposer and a seconder, and an indication by the nominee that (s)he is willing to serve on the SAGA council. Proposer, seconder, and nominee must all be members of SAGA (more details on nomination are available in paragraph 6.9 of the SAGA constitution).

Note: After the acceptance of the 2008 financial statements were accepted, some decisions by the council in 2009 impacted on the accounting of certain amounts, and the treasurer at the time, Sakkie Buys, revised the financial statements. The revised versions were supposed to be submitted for approval at the 2010 SAGA AGM, but this was not done due to an oversight. When preparing the financial statements for 2009-2012, this oversight was discovered and the the revised statements are thus now presented for approval. For further queries on this point, please contact before the AGM. (Original revised statements from Sakkie Buys: Revised Financial Statements for 2008; these are the original 2008 statements approved at the 2009 AGM).

Regarding new council members: John Leuner has indicated he is willing to serve another term on the council, although he may need to resign from the council if his other responsibilities take him abroad indefinitely. The only other nomination for the council is Chris Welsh (nominated by Steve Kroon; seconded by Francois van Niekerk).

Posted by Steve as SAGA at 10:12 PM, No Comments »

February 4th, 2013

SAGA Credit Points for 2012

The SAGA credit point standings at the end of 2012 are now available for download. Also available is a zip file showing the calculations for each entry in the list.

Any errors or omissions must be reported to the Membership Secretary (Paul Steyn) by the 12th of February (one week from tomorrow). If errors are not reported, the current lists will be considered final, barring situations which the SAGA council deems exceptional.

    Notes on calculations:

  • The sponsorship level for the WAGC is taken as 50%
  • The sponsorship level for the KPMC is taken as 100%
  • John Leuner’s final standing in the 2012 WAGC is taken as 40th place, as per the Nihon Ki-in page, and not 41st place, as per the EuroGo Federation page.

Update: No objections received by the deadline; the credit points are now considered final.

Posted by Paul Steyn as Announcements at 10:28 PM, No Comments »

February 1st, 2013

Chris wins 1st Quarter Internet Tournament

The 1st quarter internet tournament for 2013 took place last weekend and 8 players took part. Congratulations to Chris Welsh, who won the the tournament.

Full Results:
1. Chris Welsh
2-4. Steve Kroon, Lloyd Rubidge, John Leuner
5-6. David Gale, Max Rabkin
7-8. Rory Shea, Paul Edwards

Posted by Francois Van Niekerk as Tournaments at 7:22 PM, No Comments »